In Hiding 

This is only the second post I have reblogged.

Quoted from the original blog: “I always remind myself that I am only one bad decision away from being on that or some other list myself.”

This is a doctor’s prescription I want to take to heart.

Behind the White Coat

screens at Versailles

I have a habit of checking the State Medical Board discipline postings whenever they come out to see if anyone I know is on there.

Typically there is no one. In fact, I can’t remember the last time I found someone that I knew.

This time, however, I found two.

Two.

The first I recognized as an old classmate of mine from medical school. He lost his license due to substance abuse… alcohol specifically. Several DUIs. A failed treatment program. I wondered when that issue started. In medical school he never seemed to be a partier. There were those but he did not run with that group. He was quiet. Studious. Funny. I liked him back then. What happened between then and now? All of those years of training and sacrifice. What is left of his life? His family?

The other was a man I had worked with as a…

Ver la entrada original 179 palabras más

5 comentarios en “In Hiding 

Responder

